Using Reiki to Help Animals

using reiki to heal horses

Healing animals is a passion I have and it won’t go away!  You could say I’m stuck with it but the truth is I enjoy doing the healing so much I wish I could do it more often. Knowing that you have connected on a spiritual level with another being is very humbling, and by offering healing you know the animal will benefit from the session. Reiki for animals is something that I will be offering very shortly, to go hand in hand with my current healing modality.

Next month I will be learning the energy healing art of reiki. The workshop is being done by a lovely lady called Lorraine who lives in Bromyard which is not far from me. Lorraine is a reiki master and has been on the reiki council so she really is reiki through and through! This will give me reiki level 1 attunements that enable me to do self healing. It’s very important to be healthy and ensure your own emotions and energy state is balanced before giving any healing yourself. The next step is for level 2 which allows you to become a practitioner. Hopefully I will do that later in the year.

You may be wondering why I need or want to learn another healing method like reiki when I already do energy healing for animals. Reiki is very similar to the healing I do right now but it is perhaps a more mainstream and recognised system. And if it helps me improve the service I give to my clients then that’s got to be a good thing. I’m not one to get stuck in a routine and not learn new things and I think getting attuned to reiki will benefit the animals I work with which is the main goal. I may even adopt it as my primary healing method if it’s as good as people make out!

So what is reiki and how can it be used for animals?

Reiki is an ancient Japanese healing therapy that was founded by Mikao Usui in the early 20th century. The word ‘reiki’ is Japanese for ‘universal life energy’, and is also a word used to describe a system of natural healing. Primarily it is offered to people as a complementary therapy but it is increasingly being used to help animals too. I have had several reiki sessions and absolutely love them. I would highly recommend a lady called Di Richardson from Evesham if you are looking for some reiki yourself. She can be found at the Evesham Natural Health Centre. The last time she gave me some I ended up in such a blissful state I didn’t want to move! It was quite a magical experience.

I will be offering reiki sessions for people’s pets and horses which will help them with both emotional and physical problems they might have. It’s also a great way to keep an animal healthy and in a balanced state.

dog receiving reiki energy

Dogs love a bit of reiki healing!

Reiki at Animal Shelters

My other aim is to offer reiki for those unfortunate animals in local rescue centres and shelters. Often these are the animals that need healing the most, having come from abused or neglected backgrounds. I would love to help out at places like Evesham Dogs Trust, Vale Wildlife Centre and Evesham Greyhound and Lurcher Rescue amongst others. Ideally I’d  help all of them but it will be important to offer reiki healing to the most scared and emotionally unbalanced animals, to help them get through the confusion and help make them easier to re-home so they can move on to a happy home with loving people.

If you live near Evesham or Pershore I can still come and give energy healing to your horses or pets, whether they are dogs, cats, rabbits, rats or any animal! Just contact me to book a healing session which can be done through distant healing or a hands on session in person. I look forward to helping your animal friends lead a healthier life!

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: My Reiki Level 1 Weekend | Healing Your Pets

Leave a Reply

